The Houston Comets are defunct. The WNBA has announced the Comets will cease operations after a new buyer for the franchise could not be found.

The Comets are arguably the premier franchise in the history of womens basketball. Led by Cynthia Cooper, Sheryl Swoopes, and Tina Thompson, they won the first four championships in WNBA history from 1997-2000.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: